Skip to content

2010.06.22

June 22, 2010

There I was in the office yesterday, working, blogging, and generally minding my own business.  Then around 3:30 my phone rings, it’s my mother.

With the foreboding words that no working mother ever wants to hear.

“Alistair just took a nap, and now he has a fever and is complaining about his ear.”

Just like that, I have no choice but to spring into action.

A quick call to the pediatrician, and we got a 4pm appointment.  I arrange to meet my mother there, wrap up a few things at the office, and get into the car as quickly as I can.

In the interim, he barfs up the medicine she gave him to lower the fever.

By 4:15 I’m in the exam room with the boy, my mother, and the doctor.  His ears are fine, but there IS a stomach bug going around, she says.  Then the usual litany – lots of fluids, bland foods, and call back if he’s not better in 3-5 days.

By 4:45 we’re home, and he’s a wet noodle on the couch, popsicle in hand.

By 7 he’s thrown up twice.

By 8:30 he’s asleep, having thrown up twice more.

By 10 I’m asleep.

By midnight he’s in OUR bed.

By the time the alarm goes off at 6:15 I estimate I’ve had about 6 hours of sleep in all, only two of them in a row.

Thankfully today is a work-at-home day.  Here we are at high noon, and he seems to have mostly recovered.   He’s still pretty low energy, but there’s been no fever today, and he’s held down everything so far.

Now I can only wonder how long it’s going to take ME to recover…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

