Skip to content

2010.05.27

May 27, 2010

It’s has been a very hot couple of days here; yesterday and the day before both got into the 90’s.  Today is cool by comparison, only about 75, but sunny and beautiful.

The heat on Tuesday drove Larry back to his warm-weather habitat:  standing in front of the grill.

Check out the view from the other side:

Chicken with barbecue sauce, fresh peaches, red onions….swoon.

And for dessert we had strawberry-rhubarb crisp, made with my new favorite recipe.

I know it doesn’t look like much, but believe me, it’s fantastic.  Best of all, you make it in the microwave!!  No more neglecting dessert all summer for fear of heating up the house!!!

I don’t see why I couldn’t use this method to make any-fruit-I-want crisp.

So, remember the other day when I said the peonies would be in full effect any minute now?

I wasn’t kidding.  Plus the peony plant I bought two years ago bloomed for the first time, too.

So pretty.  There’s only the one bloom, but now I have reason to hope that it will be more productive as the years go on.

Okay, okay, enough avoiding the issue.  We had the gender-identification ultrasound yesterday, and so now I am happy to announce that we are having a boy.  This one will be known as “the Peanut”, so as not to be confused with “the Peep”.

So if anybody has any boy-name suggestions, feel free to send them along; we’ve got nothing so far.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Phyllis Williams permalink
    May 27, 2010 8:24 pm

    Congratulations! A new son and a brother for the Peep! Wonderful news!!
    We think of all of you so often. xoxoxo

  2. May 28, 2010 12:31 pm

    Congratulations! And yay for you all with the boy. Such fun times ahead for your family. Name…I’ll go with my favorite other than Dan of course – the forever favorite Michael. Enjoy the long weekend Dina and have fun in Cummington this weekend. I’m envious!

Leave a Reply

