Skip to content

2010.05.12

May 12, 2010

Here’s the baby blanket as it looked fresh off the needles:

Sooo cushy and lofty, I debated a bit on whether to block it out at all.

But then I did.  Here’s what it looked like pinned out to dry:

And then finally, off the needles (albeit a bit damp – I couldn’t wait any longer!) and in natural sunlight:

Here are the specs:

Pattern:  Wool Leaves by Jared Flood
Yarn:  Peruvia Quick by Berroco, 3 1/2 skeins, approx. 350 yards
Size 13 needles

Pre-block dimensions:  24″ x 28″
Post-block dimensions:  32″ x 34″

Love, Love, Love it.

I also started the first of the Christmas hats on Monday night.  I made a gauge swatch (good thing, too, I had to go down a needle size), and got through one (12-row) repeat.  Yesterday I managed *four* more repeats, and there are a total of nine in the whole pattern.   Score!

I’m using the same pattern and same yarn, but in different colors, for my brother’s three daughters; at this point I’m feeling like I might just knock them all out by the end of the weekend.

Which would leave four other hats to go for Christmas, not including the hats for my own children.  I have the yarn in-hand for three of the four, and need to quickly consult with my sister-in-law before settling on yarn for the last one – there’s a good chance I have something suitable in my stash.

The Peep has announced that regardless of the baby lamb’s gender, he wants matching red hats for them both.  While I do have some red yarn in my stash in varying weights, I’m going to hold off on yarn/pattern selection until after the ultrasound.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 9:26 am

    How’d that feel…typing CHILDREN. Yay!

Leave a Reply

