Skip to content

2010.04.28

April 28, 2010

Finished sleeve #1 last night, feeling pretty danged confident about finishing sleeve #2 by Friday. After that, it’s straight onto the baby blanket; do not pass Go, do not collect $200.

I can’t wait!

In other news, I’ve decided to make hats for Christmas for all the kids this year; I can knock out a bulky-weight hat in a couple of days, which is an order of magnitude faster than I can make a pair of socks, two-at-a-time or not.  Since I’ll be um, distracted for most of the fall, and will have some baby-knitting in the works beforehand, I feel like this is a wise decision.

And yes, I do realize it’s a bit nutsy to be thinking about Christmas in April.

But I figure if I do two hats a month, I’ll be finished before Labor Day, which will give me some leeway in case things don’t go according to plan.  My due date is October 23, but since the Peep was a full five weeks early, I’m planning to have my hospital bag packed six weeks in advance.  Which is, guess what?  The Saturday after Labor Day.

So I paid a virtual visit to Webs yesterday and let my fingers do the walking through their closeouts.  Five projects’ worth of yarn purchased at under $30, including shipping.

Two of the other projects will require a bit of consultation before purchasing, and I’ve promised the Peep that he and the new baby can have matching hats, so we’re gonna have to wait to see what’s cooking (May 26th) before I can buy the yarn for either of them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carol Seitz permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:06 pm

    I love your thinking. Hats are the way to go and Webs is the best place to shop. Were you able to buy sale yarn? What did you get? I love the idea of matching hats for the two offspring. I’m actually planning to make somewhat matching sweaters for my two granddaughters for Christmas. I already have the yarn picked out–Wool of the Andes. So you’re not the only one thinking about Christmas. I also bought the yarn for Ken’s Christmas sweater at the Webs sale!

Leave a Reply

