Skip to content

2010.04.20

April 20, 2010

We finally FINALLY got some early seeds in the ground on Sunday – lettuce, spinach, snow peas, snap peas, and green beans are all good to go.

The Peep and I planted watermelon and pumpkin seeds indoors last Sunday, and were thrilled to see some seedlings this weekend.  They are far from hardy seedlings, and it’ll be another two months before they’re ready to go outside – and I have my doubts on whether we’ll get any production out of them in the first place – but it makes him happy, and it’s simple enough to try.

Today it’s sunny and in the 60’s, and I’m working at home, so earlier this afternoon we took a lap around the garden to see what’s developing.

Before we get into the update, I should say that these are all perennials, and we do nothing in the way of fall or spring prep except to cut down the indigo and berry canes in fall, and the butterfly bushes in spring.

Okay, on to the update:

False indigo – every year I declare that I’m not going to cut them down, and every year I do anyway.  I really ought to add that to RTM.

Hosta’s, one of twelve – they’re usually good for one hit from the lawnmower a summer, so I’m always impressed by their will to live.

Grapes!  Note to self:  the vines that produce green grapes have green leaves,

and the ones that produce red grapes have pinky-red leaves.  Care for a closer look?

The raspberry canes are coming in like gangbusters, as they do every year:

but it’s the strawberries that are blowing my mind.  We got less than five berries out of this bed all last season, but look at it now:

and even the beginnings of blossoms, no less-

While the back yard has a lot of production that’s well, productive, the front yard has no function other than to make me happy when I walk by.

In which it succeeds admirably.  There’s something new coming into its own every couple of days.

But the stuff that really makes me giggle, is the stuff that isn’t supposed to come back.  Like the herbs in containers that we leave out all winter…

That’s sage and chives, respectively.

And this wisteria vine, which didn’t look this good at any point last year:

We planted it a bit too far from the fence for it to twine up it naturally, we’ll have to figure out some way of training it over so that it will start to climb once it gets big enough.

I don’t know about you, but looking at growing things makes this slow and stuttering spring a little easier to take…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

