Skip to content

2010.02.24

February 24, 2010

We came, we saw, we steeked.

The neckwarmer looked like this when we started:

Then CC exercised her crochet mojo, and Veronica and I could only watch, mesmerized by her flashing fingers of fury:

Moments later, she had finished the first row.

At which point I took over, to do the second side.

A few awkward stitches later, I handed it back to CC for completion.  I swear I will get the hang of crochet one day, but yesterday was not that day.

Two wonderfully symmetrical rows later, and I took it back, scissors in hand.

When it’s destruction you want, I’m your girl.

After a few tense moments, the deed was done.

Two beautifully crisp edges are all that remain.

Although moments later we realized that we’d in fact begun at the second stitch on each end, not the first – so we had four live stitches to contend with (one at each corner).  They won’t show after I add on the button bands, so I just tied the loose ends together.  Bad knitting form, I know, but oh well.

Full disclosure:  I historically have trouble differentiating between the first live stitch and the cast-on stitch, and I misfired on both ends in this case.

BUT – the important thing is, the steeking worked like a charm.  It is magic, I tell you, MAGIC.

I’ll get going on the button bands tonight, maybe even finish them, who knows?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 1:37 pm

    Yay! When you come to NH this summer you can give me a demonstration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

