Skip to content

2010.02.23

February 23, 2010

So, the knitting.

I got the neckwarmer up to the point of steeking on Sunday afternoon.

When I reached the top border section, I realized that I’d screwed up the bottom border.  Somehow I didn’t catch that the stitch pattern called “Corrugated Ribbing” was supposed to be, um, ribbing.  So I worked it in two-color stockinette.

Doh.

Since there was no way on earth I was going to rip it out and start again, I worked the top border the same way.

And I’ll work the button bands the same way.  Oh well, no real harm done; the edges won’t be quite so clingy, but if I place the buttons properly, it shouldn’t really matter.

With my frustrations held at bay, I turned to the sweater.  I finished the sleeves in a few minutes, then got myself settled to sew the shoulders closed, in preparation of starting the collar.

And then I realized that I’d screwed up the fronts.

See those held stitches (with the white string) on either side?  They’re supposed to be at the neck edge, not the sleeve edge.  Sigh.

That’s what I get for doing the two-at-a-time thing, and paying less attention to the directions than I clearly ought to be.

After a round of swearing, weeping, and gnashing of the teeth, I surveyed the situation with a clear mind.  And thankfully, I suspected it would be reasonably easy to fix.

And luckily, it was.  I picked up those live stitches and worked them straight to the top edge.  The result isn’t completely perfect, but once the collar is attached, I don’t think it will be too glaringly obvious.

But, by the time I was finished with that little side job, I knew knitting anything else would be a bad idea.   I sewed up the shoulder seams and put it all away.

Last night I was asleep by 8:30, so the sweater still looks just like that.

The girls are coming to dinner; so tonight, we steek!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 4:16 pm

    Make sure you steek before the wine bottle comes out – or rather, becomes empty! Send pics!

Leave a Reply

