Skip to content

2010.02.16

February 16, 2010

I haven’t been posting a lot of recipes lately, you may have noticed.  Not because I’m not cooking, but because I’ve been sticking to the tried-and-true, to the mindless-midweek recipes that can take me from in-the-door and to-the-table in a minimum of time, effort, and imagination.

Can you tell I’ve got the winter blahs?

A few weeks ago I bought a couple of small acorn squashes.  I meant to just dice them up and roast them, like I do with most of our veggies lately.  But for one reason and another, I just never got around to it.  They languished in the fridge for a couple of weeks, and finally last week I got around to using them.

It’s sort of a riff on the Ravioli with Spinach and Bacon recipe from a while back.

It’s actually almost identical to that recipe, except there’s squash instead of spinach (duh), and I used some difference spices.  And less bacon, but that’s mostly because I used what I had in the house.  I think any winter squash would work here, except possibly spaghetti squash.

Ravioli with Winter Squash

  • 1 large package frozen cheese ravioli
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 1/2 – 2 pounds of winter squash
  • 2 teaspoons each nutmeg, sage, and garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put a pot of water on to boil and add a good shake of salt to it.

Peel and seed the squash, and cut it into small chunks (an inch across or smaller will help them cook more quickly).

Put the bacon into the largest skillet you have and then turn on the heat (makes a huge difference).  When it’s cooked to your liking take it out and put it on a plate covered by paper towels.  If there’s a ton of grease in the pan, take some out – you want a couple of tablespoons of it to remain.

By the time the bacon is cooked the water is either boiling or just about to, so put the ravioli into the water.

Crumble the bacon into bite-sized pieces, then put the skillet back onto the heat and add the squash to it.  Sprinkly all the seasonings across the whole thing, and leave it alone for a minute or two.  Stir it around every couple of minutes, until the squash is tender and starting to brown around the edges.

The ravioli are most likely ready by now (follow the time instructions on the package), so take them out and drain them.   Put them back into the pot.  Add the squash and the bacon to the pot and toss the whole thing together.

Divide onto plates and serve.

~~

In the knitting department, I managed to put some quality time in on the sleeves for the cardigan; the next time I pick it up I’ll be beginning the sleeve decreases.  I finally read the pattern all the way through, and it tells you to seam up the shoulders, then work the collar and button bands, and then add the sleeves and sew the side seams.   Which sounds unusual – certainly I’ve never finished a sweater that way – but it makes total sense.

Also, I cast on for my Olympic project during Friday’s opening ceremonies.  Here’s what it looks like today.

Hopefully the next time I take a status photo, it’ll be a little more photogenic.

One unexpected benefit of the project – I’ve learned how to knit holding yarn in both hands, which means that I’ve (finally) gotten the hang of knitting with the yarn in my right hand.  Of course, the tension is all over the place, but I imagine as the muscle memory kicks in, things will improve.

I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’m comfortable with stranded knitting – take a look at the floats

they’re inconsistent at best, and I’m worried about what will happen when the steek is cut – but I’m feeling a little more confident with the technique, at least.

So that’s something.

I’m at row 10 of a 51-row pattern.  There were 5 border rows at the outset, and there are another 5 at the end, so call it 60 rows.  Which means I’m 15% through.  Not counting the steeks, of course, or the button bands; still, I think I should be able to finish it up by the end of the Olympics.  Or come awfully close, anyway.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 2:03 pm

    Mmm squash/bacon ravioli sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

