Skip to content

2010.02.02

February 2, 2010

I finished the fronts of the sweater on Friday:

And the back is of course already done.

So onto the sleeves I go.  I’m trying to get this wrapped up in time to start a project for the Ravelympics, although I haven’t joined the actual event, and likely won’t.  I do like the idea of starting a project during the opening ceremonies, and finishing it during the closing ones (16 days), but I’m not sure if I want to add unnecessary pressure to my non-deadline knitting.

Also, after finishing the fronts, I didn’t look at my knitting again until last night.  Which was short-lived, since Larry came home early from work with the the stomach flu, and he was generous enough to share it with me.  I was asleep at 8, and then up pretty much hourly between 2 and 8am.  Sigh.  Good thing today was a work at home day…

I’ve been reading like a fiend over the past few days, though, and I thought I’d pass along a couple of good books for you:

First of all, have you read Possession?  It’s one of those stories-within-a-story books, one of the best in my opinion.  (I’m not talking about the movie, I haven’t seen it).

There seem to be more and more of these stories-within books coming out; most of the time when I pick a book up I don’t even realize that’s what it is.  Some are better done than others, and these are two of my recent favorites.

The Broken Teaglass – Set at a dictionary company in western Massachusetts, this one is a mystery of sorts, when two youngish editors stumble across some odd, yet seemingly related, citations in their files.  It’s not a funny book per se, but the author does take advantage of the potentially funny part of the dictionary business.

The Tenth Gift – This has more of a historical bent, like Possession.   A woman whose life is at a crossroads is given an antique historical embroidery pattern book.  The books has the original owner’s notes (circa 1625) in the margins, and the new owner is soon drawn into the story.

All three are available from your local library, saving your discretionary spending to be used at the shoe store, yarn shop, or what have you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 4:45 pm

    Your sweater is beautiful! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

