Skip to content

2010.01.26

January 26, 2010

Sublime: The joy of wearing handknit socks.  Truly, there is no comparison between them and store-bought.

Ridiculous: Forgetting which are machine-washable and which aren’t.

Remember these?

I made them on vacation back in the summer of 2008.

Except somehow I lost the ball-band, or conveniently forgot the yarn content, or just flaked entirely.

And so, for the past few months they’ve looked like this:

And although they’re nice and dense and warm, as all felted wool is, they’re too dang small.

Which really burns my arse.

Finally a couple of weeks ago I broke down and bought a pair of sock blockers from the Loopy Ewe.  I figured I’d give the socks a nice warm soak, then put them on the blockers, leave them to dry, and hope for the best.

And wouldn’t you know, it worked like a charm; I don’t know how I lived without sock blockers all this time.  The socks are  still very dense, and the stitch definition has blurred into oblivion, but they’re still wearable.  Cozy, even.  I wore them twice last week, in fact.

And put them in to the wash this morning.

From whence they went to the dryer.

And so they look like this again:

Seriously, will I ever learn?

As in case you’re wondering, that IS my sari-silk belt up there in the sock-blocker photo.   I tried my damnedest to felt that DOWN, using a combination of techniques that included hand-felting (for which I made a special trip and bought a plunger), washing in hot water, and putting it through the dryer.  And in case you’re wondering, its dimensions have changed not a bit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 12:28 pm

    Well at least you’re keeping up with the laundry!

Leave a Reply

