Skip to content

2009.12.30

December 30, 2009

Time to check in on my 2009 resolutions:

  • Maintain a reasonable weight – I had a 10-pound swing through the course of the year, with the highest point happening right about … now.  Sigh.
  • Eat more locally -I think we did fairly well on this, actually.   I mostly stopped buying out-of-season fruits and vegetables.   And when buying produce, I made an effort to buy US-grown rather than South American.  It’s a start.  With such a wet summer we didn’t have as much garden bounty as I’d hoped, but there’s always next year…
  • Financial overhaul – Put all my credit cards into a consolidation program, and as of this writing two have been closed-and-settled, and the other two are under payment agreements.  We’re saving a bit of money – will save more and more over time – and aren’t using the remaining credit cards for anything other than emergencies.

This year I think I’m not going to call them “resolutions”  – I think that’s almost an automatic jinx.   How about “2010 goals”?

  • Lose these last 5 pounds and stick to within 2 pounds of that weight.  And exercise sometimes, for pete’s sake.
  • Continue socking away money.

I think that’s plenty, don’t you?

And my knitting resolutions were:

  • Try entrelac – done !  Of course, the scarf still looks like it did back then; haven’t even taken it out of the bag in months.
  • Try fairisle – um, no…
  • Knit more for my family, and less for everyone else’s – if my extended family counts, then yes.  Otherwise, not really – although I did make the Peep a penguin, a sweater, and a pair of socks.  So maybe I did.
  • Continue knitting for charity – aside from a few things for the Knitting Connection, this was sadly a fail.

Goals for next year:

Fairisle, again.

To not buy yarn until Mass Sheep and Wool, in May. [Added on 1/4/10]

Enough.  Beyond that, I want to knit whatever I feel like knitting this year – at least until the Christmas knitting begins.

If I’m not back before next week, have a happy, healthy, and safe New Year’s Eve celebration – and a wonderful 2010.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

