Skip to content

2009.12.15

December 15, 2009

We’re gearing up for the holiday around here.  Oh, the shopping and the wrapping is all done, thankfully.  And the knitting is long since finished.

We’re just at the stage when family demands events are starting to fly fast and furiously, and we’re just running ragged.  Neither Larry’s company or mine close down any extra time around the holidays, so we aren’t getting any sort of break, schedule-wise.  In fact, I’m covering for at least two people in my office during the week between the holidays, so I stand to be busier than usual that week.  Ugh.

Okay, now that the venting is out of the way, how about some knitting?

Here’s a little almost-mindless scarf I’m working up for myself:

It doesn’t look like much, just lying there, does it.  How about a vertical shot?

Gives you a bit of a better idea of the airy quality of the thing, I think.

I’m using yak-down yarn for the first time; I bought it at Rhinebeck.   It’s supposedly softer than cashmere and warmer than wool, so I’m thinking the openness of the stitch pattern will be okay.   The pattern can be found in this book.

I’m looking forward to seeing it finished and blocked; no idea what to expect from this yarn…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

