Skip to content

2009.12.09

December 9, 2009

We had our company’s holiday party on Sunday night; you will be unsurprised to learn that I had a vicious hangover Monday morning.  Nonetheless, I toughed it out and went into the office.  After a wonderfully greasy cheeseburger for lunch, I felt worlds better.

I went home, and we had pizza for dinner – it was Larry’s birthday, and I was better, but not better enough to want to cook, you know?

And by about 8:15, everything went pear-shaped.  I had the chills, I was dizzy, I was throwing up every 45 minutes.  I was still pretty wrecked yesterday, and I’m at home again today.

Turns out that a stomach bug has been making its way through my extended family (most of whom have been in my house in the past 4 days); I’ll blame Monday morning’s woes on the party, but the rest was that bug, pure and simple.

All of this goes by way of explanation of why I didn’t post the shawl specs.  Without further ado, may I present Prairie Rose.

Here she is soaking in a warm bath on Saturday morning:

Followed by a nice blocking:

As I said, it made its debut on Sunday night at the party.  Larry and I braved the elements (he’s been home these past few days with me, mostly for childcare and moral support) to take these pictures moments ago:

The color is most accurate in the top photo, but this bottom one shows the pattern of a bit more clearly.

The pattern is included in the Knitter’s Book of Wool.  I used Briar Rose Fiber‘s Grandma’s Blessing – I bought it at Rhinebeck.  Her website says it comes 400 yards to a skein, but the one I have had 600 yards, at 198 grams.  I have 50 grams left, which I’m rounding out to 150 yards or so, so I’ll call this shawl at 450 yards.

This is sportweight yarn, heavier than the fingering-weight the pattern calls for, so I used size 7 needles.

Before I blocked it, it measured out to 45 inches wide and 18 inches long.  Post-blocking it is 60 inches by 30 inches.  Probably would have been even more if I was more aggressive with the blocking – which is likely why the border is more wavy than scalloped.  Ah well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 4:19 pm

    Absofreakinglutely gorgeous! Sorry to hear about the bug and the other bug, just a little more fun to catch. Enjoy the freezing cold weekend!

Leave a Reply

