Skip to content

2009.11.23

November 23, 2009

Okay, before I forget, here’s the quickie project I buzzed through last week:

Totally cute, right?  It used about half of a 220-yard skein of sock yarn.   Couldn’t be happier with these.  I might make myself a pair before the year is out.

I’m halfway through the second repeat of the shawl.  Which is most impressive when you consider that I had to rip the whole thing out on Friday and start over. Sigh.  I was halfway through the first repeat, when I was two stitches short on a row.  I tinked back and did it again, and again, two stitches short.  I figured it could happen to anybody, so I added two.  And then on the next row, I was over two stitches.  Sigh.  At that point I couldn’t clearly see where I had gone wrong, and it was just easier to start over.  Thankfully, it has gone much more smoothly since then, and there’s a outside chance that I will have the whole thing finished before the long weekend ends.

The pattern calls for four repeats and then two series of different edgings.  I figure I’ll weigh the yarn after the fourth repeat, and if I feel confident with the amount that’s left, I might add another repeat before I start the edging.   We’ll see how that works out.

Oh, and here are my new glasses:

They came with clip-on sunglasses, too.

On the home front, it’s been cleaning, cleaning, and straightening up pretty much nonstop the past couple of days.  I’ve got one more room to tackle before I start on the bathroom…and since the bathroom is Larry’s department under normal circumstances, I might just leave him to it.  So I’m feeling pretty happy with the way things are progressing so far.

Of course, I haven’t done a lick of cooking prep for Thursday, so there’s plenty of time for things to go pear-shaped.

I may not blog again this week, so again – happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 1:12 am

    the new glasses are gorgeous! and love the mitts

  2. November 25, 2009 1:02 pm

    Love the glasses. Have a great weekend!

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 26, 2009 12:07 am

    LOVE the mittens (?). Super cute! And your glasses are HOT!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Larry and the Peep. ❤

Leave a Reply

