Skip to content

2009.11.17

November 17, 2009

So, it’s been a solid week since we’ve seen any sign of rodent residency.

I’m not naive, I doubt they’ve packed up and left.  But at a minimum, they’ve become more cautious and conservative, which is all I can really hope for.

Evie’s doing the trick.

Things had gone so well that by last weekend Larry and I were talking about getting a cat of our own.  While we were still debating, my sister-in-law offered to let us keep Evie.

We thought about it a bit, but it wasn’t a difficult decision to make.  There are 4 kids in that house, so my sister-in-law has one less thing to contend with.  And they have 2 dogs already, so the kids aren’t really being deprived of a pet.  Plus they’re just around the corner, so they can visit her frequently.  On our part, it saves us the gamble of getting a cat from a shelter or whatever.  And for Evie’s part, she’s the only pet here, so she’s got the life of Riley.  It’s really a win-win-win.

So now, out of the blue, my life has taken a turn I had never considered:

I am a cat owner.

And I kind of like it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 10:16 am

    Oh Congratulations to all of you, including Evie. The hat looks great and the grilled cheese menu is wonderful! What a great idea.

  2. Carol Seitz permalink
    November 18, 2009 10:51 am

    Wonderful decision–my daughter is a pet-sitter and volunteers in an animal shelter in Attleboro. She has three cats of her own–fosters others and has a dog. We have three dogs–so wonderful decision. Your life will be enriched by sharing it with a kitty. She also looks like a wonderful cat.

Leave a Reply

