Skip to content

2009.09.28

September 28, 2009

I *totally* forgot to take pictures of Friday night’s supper club.  But I’m here to tell you, a good time was had by all.  The highlights included (but were not limited to):  lots of great food and wine, fantastic stories and chitchat, the theft of a dinner fork, and a mouse sighting in the kitchen.

Needless to say, we bought traps first thing Saturday morning.

Then I proceeded to go on a bit of a kitchen bender …

I made spicy roasted chickpeas:

IMG_0425

Which are delicious, addictive and healthy – a whole batch (nearly a pound) is just 4 points!  The recipe is below, if you’re curious.

Then I made an apple pie:

IMG_0427

Also delicious and addictive, but not quite so healthy.  Especially when you add a scoop of ice cream to your plate.

And finally, I made the apple cider donuts I’ve been dying for:

IMG_0433

(sue me, I only have one donut pan – and I hate baking in batches).

They were good, but not as transportingly delicious as others I’ve had; my quest for the perfect recipe continues…

I also did some knitting; the second (and blessedly last) Christmas scarf is halfway to completion.  Sadly, it’s as boring as ever, and I will not photograph either of the scarves until they’re both finished and blocked.  Hopefully that’ll happen by the end of the week…this is why I don’t make many scarves, I find them sooooo dull.

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

1 14-ounce can of chickpeas
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400.

Rinse and drain the chickpeas, and pat them dry with a paper towel.  Spread them into a single layer on a baking sheet, and drizzle the oil over them – toss them around to make sure that all the chickpeas get coated with the oil.

Roast them for 35-40 minutes, until they’re a nice brown color.  While they’re roasting, combine all the spices into a small cup or bowl and stir to combine.

Remove the chickpeas from the pan and place in a large bowl.  Pour the spices over them and toss to combine.

They’ll keep in an airtight container for up to a week….if they last that long.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    October 3, 2009 9:29 pm

    There was a mouse in the kitchen when we were there? Who saw it? Whoever it was did a great job of keeping quiet!!

Leave a Reply

