Skip to content

2009.09.15

September 15, 2009

In case you were wondering, I have been scaling back my discretionary purchases lately.  I haven’t bought any yarn that wasn’t earmarked for Christmas, and in fact I sold a bag of yarn on Ravelry last week.  Which gave me a justifiable excuse to buy myself a little something.

A couple of months ago I bought this tote bag on Etsy:

IMG_0406

And I’ve been using it nonstop since.  But it’s a little slouchier than I really like, and it’s pretty thin canvas, albeit sturdy; I don’t think it will stand up to a Boston winter.  I wanted something about the same size, but maybe in leather, and maybe with a closure of some sort at the top.

I found a bag on Etsy, and placed the order.  The creator emailed me when she received my order, and again when she shipped the order, and then again just before the package was due for delivery – that last time to let me know the proper way to handle the bag after unwrapping, to give the leather a chance to breathe, retain its grain, and settle into its proper shape.

Such service, right?  Truly remarkable in my experience; I’ve bought a number of Coach bags over the years, and never once have they offered advice other than “buy our $25 bottle of leather cream”.

I suppose you want to see the bag now, don’t you.

Here’s how it looked when it came out of the FedEx package:

IMG_0398

Hand-sewn into a linen bag.  I know!

Here’s the front:

IMG_0400

And the back:

IMG_0399

The main part of the bag has a heavy-duty zipper, and there’s an internal zippered pocket as well.  The buckle detail on the front is actually functional; you can adjust it to make the opening larger/smaller.

I followed her instructions last night, and packed it up today; I love love love this bag.  And Etsy.

In other news, I took the Peep to his first dentist appointment ever this morning; he did great!  We prepared for the visit by playing dentist for the past week, and obviously it paid off.  There was a moment when he saw the pick they use, and he wasn’t too thrilled with that, but the hygienist called it a “counter” and he was okay.  Whew.

I took him to the local coffee shop for a victory donut.  Because nothing says “hooray for dental health!” like a donut covered in chocolate frosting AND sprinkles.

Shortly after, when I was still basking in the glory of being a good mom and having a good boy…he poured an entire can of fish food into our betta-fish tank.  Needless to say, the moment of glory passed in a flash.  He went into time out, and I skimmed out as much of the food as I could.  I’ll do a full water change tonight, sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

