Skip to content

2009.09.09

September 9, 2009

I got a phone call out of the blue on Friday afternoon, from Larry’s mother (she was on Peepwatch for the day).  Alistair had pooped on the potty!  Wheeee!

So, despite having a pretty full list o’ things to do, we went to the Lego store on Saturday morning.

And if there’s anything geekier than Legos, it’s Star Wars Legos.  Which is exactly what he wanted, and exactly what he got.

We did manage to knock a few things off of the to-do list in the course of the long weekend, and there was still plenty of laying around doing very little, which is always a plus for me.

I finished the fourth pair of Christmas socks, for one thing:

IMG_0391
and promptly started another pair, for Alistair.  After his pair is finished, I’ll only have one more pair of baby socks, and then one pair of adult socks (Larry’s, to match the boy’s).  Then a couple of scarves, and then I’m finished with my Christmas knitting!  Woohooooo!

I’m hoping to have it all done by Columbus Day, October 12.   I really feel like I can.  Honest!

I also managed to block out Liesl; more accurately, I soaked it in Eucalan, then laid it out flat to dry.  I didn’t bother to use pins, the wool was heavy enough to keep it in place.

IMG_0393

IMG_0392

I’m thrilled with it.  In fact, I’m wearing it right now (Larry took these pics early this morning).  In retrospect, I wish I had used pins for the blocking, at least for the bottom seam; but that’s easy enough to rectify later.  For now, I’m just basking in the glory of another finished object.

Also basking in the glowing expectation of a long-standing wish of mine, about to come true:

I’m going to Rhinebeck for the very first time.  With CC and Veronica.  Driving down Friday, coming home Saturday.  So it’s not just a Girls Trip – it’s an overnight Girls Trip.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 8:43 am

    The sweater is beautiful! Lucky duck on the Rhinebck trip! One of these days I’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

