Skip to content

2009.08.28

August 28, 2009

My dad was looking after the Peep for part of the day yesterday, and after enough begging he agreed to straighten up the joint a bit for us.  So when the girls came over it wasn’t a complete disaster, yay.

(I wonder if any of them noticed how sticky the dining room floor was?  I must remember to deal with that when I get home…)

So yeah, the girls came over, and a good time was had by all.

Here are the in-progress shots of Liesl I’ve been promising all week.

IMG_0360

I’m thinking the pattern will open up a bit during blocking, and the fronts will overlap a bit.  If it doesn’t, and I have to wear it open all the time, that’s okay too.  I didn’t work in buttonholes in any case, so if it does overlap, I’ll just use a brooch.

Here’s the back:

IMG_0359

See?  Now isn’t that pretty impressive for one ball of yarn?

I’m sorry to say that I didn’t work on the sweater at all last night, although CC was plugging away at her afghan.

I was too busy teaching Veronica how to knit.

(Sorry for not warning you; I hope you were sitting down)

Yes, friends, after years – literally years – of vowing to never knit a stitch, the fashionista herself has caved.  How the mighty have fallen.

It started out innocently enough; all I did was forward this link to her, telling her that my knitting world and her fashion world had collided like something in an old Reese’s commercial (“you got chocolate in my peanut butter!” “you got peanut butter in my chocolate!”).  I mentioned that cowls are easy and fast to knit, and making one in even the most luxurious of yarns would still be cheaper than buying a crappy one at the mall.

And just like that, she wanted to learn.  So armed with an extra skein of superwash and some size 9’s, I taught her last night.

You don’t believe me, do you?  Just feast your eyes on this:

IMG_0361

Sorry for the poor resolution; I’m sure I was either laughing or chatting or drinking as I was taking it.  Probably all three, actually.

No real weekend plans, although I do have a hair appointment tomorrow morning.  The forecast sounds pretty crappy – perfect weather for making soup.  And donuts.

And I’m going to leave you with that thought.  Have a great weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 10:14 pm

    Ahaha the winds of change!

  2. Chrissy permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:41 pm

    Adorable!

Leave a Reply

