Skip to content

2009.08.21

August 21, 2009

I finished the socks last night!

IMG_0355

Having now completed 6 pairs of two-at-a-time socks, I can unequivocally say that I love the method.

The most painful part of the whole endeavor has been dividing out the yarn from one ball into two.  Which really only happens when you’re starting with a 100g ball, and then only when the pattern is a directional one and you don’t want the pattern reversed on one sock.

I should mention that I often have a similar problem whenever I’m starting with a sausage-shaped skein of yarn.  I’m sure there’s a technical term for that particular put-up, but just so we’re clear, I’m talking about yarn shaped like this:

3

The ones where you have to fish around in one side or the other to find the yarn end.  It rarely works out for me, usually I end up with a giant wad of yarn trailing outside of the outer casing.   Said wad inevitably tangles up, followed closely by my owing large sums of money to the swear jar.

So for this two-at-a-time business I’ve been fishing out the end and attaching it to my ball winder.  Then I put the larger cake of yarn onto a kitchen scale, and wind away.  When the yarn on the scale approaches the halfway mark, weight-wise, I cut the yarn, take the new center-pull ball off the winder, and re-attach the yarn end to the winder.

Once that second ball is wound off I’m a happy camper, and I forget all about my tribulations.  Until it’s time to start the next pair of socks, at which time it’s a lather-rinse-repeat thing.

Okay, enough about that.  Probably more than enough about that.

I also swatched for and began Liesl last night.  I bet I’ll have it done by the end of next week, if not sooner.  I’ll post in-progress photos next week, right now it resembles a section of tweedy-green fishing net.

The Peep is staying at my mother-in-law’s, so Larry and I will have the house to ourselves tonight.  At first we were thinking of going to the movies.  Then we thought about going out to a nice dinner.  Then we realized that the Sox-Yanks series starts tonight.  We haven’t quite decided on what we’re going to do, but there’s a fair chance we’ll be grabbing takeout and parking ourselves on the couch for the duration.  There’s a tick-list of chores in the offing, too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 3:20 pm

    Sit, relax! Chores are so overrated! (Is that one word?) Have a great weekend. DRD and TLP will be at the game Sunday – hopefully we’re in for a better series!

Leave a Reply

