Skip to content

2009.08.18

August 18, 2009

Yesterday I picked a few more tomatoes, bringing the total haul to a hair over 3 pounds.  I cored them, then quartered and pureed them in the blender.   According to the preserving book I have, when you use a blender to puree the tomatoes, you introduce a lot of air into the mix; it recommends bringing them to a boil, then simmering for 5 minutes.  So that’s what I did (I added some basil to the pot, just ’cause).

After simmering, the yield was 2 1/4 pounds of tomato puree.  It’s now in the freezer.  Yay!  When the time comes to use that for dinner, it’ll take a few hours for the puree to thicken up and become “sauce” – but that’s a lot easier to take in say, November.

There are a lot of people out there who buy tomatoes in bulk in peak season to can the sauce for the winter.  And I completely understand why – there’s nothing like a fresh tomato. Or sauce from same.

At the same time, I just can’t bring myself to spend a few dollars a pound for several pounds of tomatoes when a can – even a premium brand can – of puree’d tomatoes can be had for about a dollar.  So until fresh tomatoes ring up at a dollar a pound, I’ll stick with just canning what comes out of my garden, thanks.  Plus it comes in small enough increments that I don’t spend hours slaving over a hot stove in the middle of a heat wave.

Okay, let me get off my high horse.

Thanks.

I’m just past the heel flap on the latest pair of Christmas socks, ready to turn the heel.

IMG_0353

They should be finished between now and Friday, and then I need to decide whether to start work on the next pair, or take a break and do something else.  I’ve been talking myself in and out of both sides for the past few days:

I’m tired of socks … but I’m on a roll and am almost halfway through my Christmas knitting.

I deserve a break … but won’t it be nice to have months of no-pressure knitting in fall and winter?

You see how it goes.

If I do step away from the socks, I’ll start a raglan pullover for the Peep.  I bought the yarn when we went to Webs in May, so this has been sitting in the queue for quite a while.  On the other hand, it’ll be several months before it’s cool enough to wear a wool sweater, so maybe it’s okay to let it sit a while longer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 9:39 am

    2 socks on 2 circs? I need to figure that technique out. They look great.

Leave a Reply

