Skip to content

2009.07.14

July 14, 2009

So I cast on for the first pair of Christmas socks last week.   (The first pair that hasn’t been ripped out, that is.)

I’ve only had limited time to work on them, but they’re chugging right along.

IMG_6620

I took that photo on Sunday, and put a little more length on them since.

I imagine I’ll make it to the heel in the next day or so, maybe have them finished by the end of next week.  I think I can definitely have them done before we go on vacation August 1.

My Christmas sock quota has decreased from 8 pairs to 6, which is a plus; my biggest nephew has requested a scarf instead of socks, so operating under the assumption that 10-year-old boys have universal tastes, the other big (quasi-)nephew will also get a scarf.  Scarves are more mindless and generally faster, but the boredom factor is sky-high.

That makes this current pair – for a 5-year-old – the biggest sock I have to make.  Well, there’s actually another 5-year-old pair in the queue, but you get the idea.  Two 5-year-olds, a 3-year-old, a 2-year-old, and two babies.  They all should go fairly quickly, and I have high hopes of having the Christmas knitting finished by Columbus Day.

I know it’s crazy to be thinking about Christmas in July, but I don’t enjoy the frenzied crush of deadline knitting, so I want to avoid knitting late into the night in mid-December.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

