Skip to content

2009.06.26

June 26, 2009

Last night Larry and I were going to attend an after-work event at my job, but between one thing and another it didn’t work out at the last minute.  But we’d already lined up a sitter, so we went out to dinner instead.

We got home shortly after 7 (what fogies we are becoming), and behold – the sun was out!

While Larry did some weed-whacking out front, I took a stroll through the backyard surveying the territory, came in with a handful of these babies:

IMG_6364

It’s mostly sunny today, so I think we’ll have many more ripening up soon.  Ditto for the strawberries.

After that we watched the Sox, and I worked on the Beach Glass shawl.

I’m halfway through the bottom border now, and took some pictures in the unexpected early-evening sun for you:

IMG_6365

After spending a week with it, I’m just now realizing it’s a variation of feather-and-fan  – what a great use of a really common stitch pattern.

There are angled decreases at four points on this shawl – either edge, and two in the middle, making a v-shaped shawl once it’s all said and done.  It’s a bit tough to see the central V right now, but as the body grows it’ll be clearer and clearer.  But side decreases are pretty evident:

IMG_6367

I’ll be spending as much time as possible outdoors this weekend, and hopefully also making good progress on this.  What are your weekend plans?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    June 8, 2010 11:21 am

    I have jusy bought this kit but i am having trouble with the pattern. I don’t understad how many times you repeat the part of the pattern that is shaded in blue. Can you help me?
    Thanks.

    • June 8, 2010 2:30 pm

      Hi Jill,

      I finished this project a year ago, so I had to look at the charts to refresh my memory. You’re right, it’s not entirely clear how many times you need to repeat the blue-shaded stitches. I didn’t write down the number of repeats in my notes, either.

      What I did do was this: the first time through I placed a marker at the end of the white stitches, a different colored marker every time I finished one of the blue repeats, and a marker the same color as the first one when I began the other edge stitches (for example, a white marker at the end of the first set of white stitches, blue markers after every blue-colored repeat, and a white marker at the beginning of the other edge stitches). That way I always knew when I was switching between the repeat pattern and the edge pattern.

      Hope that helps, and thanks for reading!
      Dina

Leave a Reply

