Skip to content

2009.06.04

June 4, 2009

I did no knitting whatsoever over the weekend.  Guess I just needed a little breather.  I cast on for the second set of baby socks on Monday night, and finished them up last night.  Behold:

IMG_5978

Totally cute, right?  Granted, they’re baby socks, so they’d go fast no matter what, but the two-at-a-time thing just it seem even faster than usual.

I’m even going to cast on for the first pair of Christmas socks tonight, and bring them with me over the weekend.  It usually takes me something like 3 weeks to make an adult-sized pair of socks; it’ll be interesting to see how long these take me with the two-at-a-time method.  Needless to say, I’m a believer.

(We now pause for  a quick foray into style and fashion…)

I’ve been having eye trouble for the past few months.   Basically my eyes are really dry lately, and often too irritated to wear contacts.  In the grand scheme of things, it’s really a minor inconvenience; at least I have fairly cool glasses, right?  But in summertime I really suffer without sunglasses.  I was thinking about getting a pair of prescription sunglasses, but I’m due for a checkup in November, and don’t want to shell out now if my prescription will change.

My mother stumbled across Fitovers a while ago, and I’ve been waffling on them since.  Finally last week I crumbled and ordered a pair.  They arrived yesterday.

IMG_5982

They’re not bad, really; pretty comfortable, and CC says you can’t really tell that I’m wearing glasses underneath.    At $35 I can’t quibble over the price, but I can’t shake the feeling that I look like a cataract patient.  What do you think?

(And now we return to our regularly-schedule programming…)

Tomorrow morning we leave for Block Island.  Words cannot convey how much I love it there; between the landscape, the laid-back lifestyle, and just being away from everything, the place just makes me happy.   I’ve been looking forward to this weekend since I booked it, and dork that I am, I’ve been watching the long-term forecasts for the last 10 days or so.  Right now it seems that we’ll have rain tomorrow afternoon (boo) but sun for the rest of the weekend (hooray).   Hopefully I’ll need to use my new sunglasses!

I hope you have a great weekend – see you on Monday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 10:25 pm

    You look cute…very Jackie O!

    Have fun on your vacation :o)

Leave a Reply

