Skip to content

2009.05.11

May 11, 2009

I had a wonderful Mothers Day weekend and I hope you did too.

It was one of those weekends that I love, the ones where I have no particular plans and no real ambition to do much.  Oh, I ran the usual gauntlet of errands, and made dinner and put away laundry, but there was no pressure to get anything BIG done, you know?

Larry and the Peep made cinnamon rolls for breakfast on Sunday, and brought it up to me in the bedroom.  Which means that we all had breakfast in bed, which in turn means that the bed is a crumby mess.  I’ll change the sheets tonight.  Probably.

I managed to take a few closer photos of the Black Parrot tulips on Saturday:

IMG_5833

IMG_5834

I love the streaks of magenta up the middles.  So pretty.

I finally finished the Whisper sweater on Saturday.  I blocked it yesterday, and hopefully this afternoon it’ll be dry and I can get Larry to take a few photos.

I also started a baby blanket for my sister-in-law’s baby.   She’s due on June 10th, but there’s talk of the baby coming early – like, in a week or two – so I thought I’d better get cracking.

I’m trying something new this time around:  log cabin knitting.

There’s a whole section of the first Mason-Dixon knitting book about log cabin blankets, and with good reason – they’re easy, they’re pretty fast, and they’re just beautiful.  You can get the (free) outline over here, under the entry for Feb 15 2004.  I say “outline” because it’s pretty basic, but it’s enough to give you the idea.  And really, it’s so simple that you don’t really need much more than an outline.

SO – I made the center patch Saturday night (20 stitches by 48 rows):

IMG_5835

Then on Sunday I picked up and knit the first strip:

IMG_5836

And then it was off to the races:

IMG_5837

I finished the second green strip last night.  I figure I’m going to need 12 strips in all, not including the border (jury’s still out on whether there will be a border, in fact).  I’m not using the cream yarn anywhere else in this blanket, so if there’s a border, it will be cream.

I’m thinking I can manage a strip a night, which means I’ll probably have this thing wrapped up by the end of next weekend.  Not too shabby, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 2:31 pm

    Looks great! And a belated HMD to you!

Leave a Reply

