Skip to content

2009.03.18

March 18, 2009

I was in such a frenzy to finish the Oblique last week that I never did any laundry.  So yesterday I paid the price:  I think I did 7 loads (we usually average about 3 a week).

Before you even ask, I haven’t put any of it away yet.  Maybe tonight, maybe tomorrow.  Maybe Saturday…?  As long as nobody’s out of socks or underwear, there’s no rush.

One thing that I haven’t been slacking on is dinner.  A couple of weeks ago I decided I was tired of making the same meals every couple of weeks, so I made a list (again with the lists) of the meals that we like and are simple/fast enough for a weeknight meal.  I came up with 42 without even trying.

42! Then why am I making the same ten meals in rotation?

I don’t know either.

So last Saturday when I was making up the meal plan/shopping list, I had my go-to meal list in front of  me.  So far this week, things seem to be better.  More varied, at least.

Monday:  pasta and tomato sauce
Tuesday:  chicken pot pie (leftover from a chicken I roasted on Sunday)
Wednesday:  stir fried pork with peppers, onions, and broccoli
Thursday:  steak and baked potatoes

Friday is takeout night at our house, so I’m off the hook for that.  I don’t usually plan the weekend meals until Saturday morning; since that’s when I do the shopping, that’s when I make my plans.  Plus I’ve got all afternoon to prep, so the meals don’t have to be completely premeditated.

Not too shabby, right?  I mean, it’s not dinner at the Ritz, but it could be a lot worse.  To be a lot better I’d need to stay home all day, but it could be a lot worse.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

