Skip to content

2009.03.09

March 9, 2009

The weekend started off with a bang small ping – my battery light came on halfway home.  I called the mechanic, and he said to try not to run a million little errands, and bring the car in Monday morning.

When the battery light comes on, it means the battery is not recharging itself, you see.  So the longer the battery isn’t recharging, the less time you have before the battery dies.

I ran a single errand Saturday (more on that in a moment), and Larry and I went out to dinner that night (the Peep slept over at my mother-in-law’s).  On Sunday I went to the grocery store, and later we went to Larry’s mother’s house.  Every time I started the car the battery light came on sooner and sooner.  Saturday morning it was 15 minutes, Sunday morning it was 5 minutes.  Luckily the weather was beautiful this weekend, and I didn’t have to use the heat, defrost or the windshield wipers.

It was so beautiful that all of the snow in the yard melted, and we played outside for a while on Saturday.

img_5389

img_5386

(Patty, that one’s for you).

This morning (when it was supposed to be raining) it was snowing.  I was too nervous to use the remote starter, and I didn’t even let the car run while I was cleaning off the snow.  The battery light came on before I could even get it out of park, and halfway to work I lost the lights on the instrument panel and the check-engine light came on.  I drove in without headlights or heat, and I used the wipers very sparingly – they were visibly slower than usual.

I can safely say that I have never had a more stressful drive – every second I thought the car was going to die on me.  But luckily I got to the mechanic’s safely.  He tells me that the battery is dead, the alternator is gone, and he’s not sure if the check-engine light was related to that (although it probably is).

So while I wouldn’t go so far as to say “all’s well that ends well”, it could have been a lot worse.

On a positive note, the errand I ran on Saturday was to go to Michael’s to pick up embroidery thread.  I sewed up the raglan seams on my sweater Sunday morning:

img_5407

I must say, I love the way this thing is shaping up.  The stitch patterns all align wonderfully,

img_5411

img_5410

and thanks to the embroidery thread the seaming went smoothly and quickly.  I worked up the cuffs last night, so tonight it’s on to the collar.  I actually think that I have a shot at finishing it in time for Thursday’s guild meeting, after all.

Lastly, I turned on the gro-lights on the seedlings on Saturday morning and found that the pepper seeds had finally sprouted!  I’ve got 4 out of 8 seeds, so I’m thrilled.

That must mean spring is coming, right?  Right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 9:16 pm

    D- the sweater looks great, cant wait to see it for real.

  2. March 10, 2009 9:51 am

    Thanks for the big wheel shot…looks like you were born to ride! Sweater is coming along beautifully!

Leave a Reply

