Skip to content

2009.02.26

February 26, 2009

No knitting last night – the Top Chef finale was on.  I am disappointed with the outcome, personally.  Not with the judges’ decision, because I can totally see why they chose who they did.  I’m disappointed with the contestants – two of the final three were their own worst enemies last night.

Isn’t it nice of me to not name names?  I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen the finale yet.

And since you all seemed to enjoy the mental picture I painted for you the other day, I thought I’d let you in on a few of my new favorite things, beauty-product-wise:

– Olive oil
– Uncoated aspirin
– hair oil

CC saw this post a few months ago, and has been washing her face with olive oil ever since – and swearing by it.  I finally gave in and tried it myself earlier this week, and after trying a few different methods, I think I’ve got a winner.  I turn on the hot water, then put a little bit of olive oil in my hands and rub it all over my face.  Then I run a washcloth under the hot water and wipe off the olive oil.  All the makeup comes right off, and my skin has never been so smooth.  (CC doesn’t use moisturizer afterwards, but I do.)

CC also turned me onto the uncoated aspirin face mask.  She mixes hers with unprocessed honey, but I use just a few drops of water and it seems to be fine.

(and yes, I’ll be trying the honey mask this weekend).

My hair is straight as a pin, but thick and heavy.  It takes a long time to blowdry, and I get the frizzies at the drop of a hat.   So when I heard about the hair oil from the Daily Grommet, I decided to give it a go.  It arrived on Monday, but as you know I didn’t wash my hair until Wednesday.

This stuff is awesome!  I tip the bottle over onto my palm, and the small amount left behind is enough for my whole head.  I run it through my hair, and then leave it alone while I get dressed and put on my makeup.  15-20 minutes later, when I’m ready to use the blowdryer, my hair is already nearly dry.  Usually it takes me 15 minutes to get my hair damply-dry enough to leave the house, and now it takes less than 5.  Seriously.  My hair is shinier than ever, and the frizzies seem to be gone.

So between CC, and the nice lady who writes for Apocalypstick Now, and the Daily Grommet, I’ve become something of a product junkie.  But when the products come from the grocery store rather than Sephora, how can I complain?

(By the way – CC, if you don’t get a blog or something soon, I’m going to set you up with a wikipedia page…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 9:27 pm

    and your hair looks fabulous!! I’m going to try the oil over the weekend.

  2. March 1, 2009 10:18 pm

    I think Facebook is as far as CC wil go :o)

Leave a Reply

