Skip to content

2009.02.20

February 20, 2009

It’s school vacation week here, so my mother-in-law has the week off.

She usually takes the Peep for a day during her vacations (everybody wins on these days:  she gets some quality time with him, he gets quality time with her, my mother gets a day off, and I usually don’t have to make dinner).  She took him yesterday.

That meant the house would be empty.  All day.

How could I resist that siren song?  I took the day off.

I went to the dayspa in the morning and had a facial and a massage (thanks for the gift certificate, Mom), and spent the afternoon parked on the couch.  In a word, it was awesome.

I can’t tell you the last time I had the house to myself…<thinking>… perhaps when I had my gallbladder out.  in August.  of 2007.   Which means I was way overdue for some peace and quiet.

I did a little knitting, and watched Burn Notice – what a great little show; I’d heard good things about it but never seemed to catch it.  They ran four episodes in a row yesterday afternoon, and I watched them all.  And then watched the new episode last night.  Yeah, I’m hooked.

I’ve got about an hour’s worth of knitting to go on the scarf, which I am DETERMINED to finishe tonight.  I’m about a third of the way through the sleeves, so I’m still well on track to finish them by the end of the month.  I’ll post pictures of the sleeves next week, I promise.

Tomorrow we’re going to a birthday party, and on Sunday I’m taking an entrelac class with CC.  Stay tuned for full reports from both…

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 8:09 pm

    Yay for a spa day!! Kudos to the spa too for having a “real” man on their site instead of a model. It’s actually the first spa I’ve ever seen use a hairy man for advertisement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

