Skip to content

2009.02.03

February 3, 2009

Can you believe it’s snowing again today?  Good grief, I am so sick of the snow I can’t even talk about it anymore.  Thanks a bunch, Phil.

Luckily, it’s my work-from-home day, so I haven’t had to go outdoors at all. Dinner is bubbling away in the crockpot as I type this.

Last week I saw the last few minutes of Giada’s show on the food channel.  Now, for the most part her show is take-it or leave-it for me; she uses way too many pots and pans, for one thing, and she’s a little too perfectly perfect, if you know what I mean.  But every once in a while I catch a recipe that really makes me go “hmmm, that seems reasonable”.

The one that caught my attention this time was portobello parmesan.  The only thing about it was the baking it afterwards part.  Not that there’s anything wrong with it, it just seemed unnecessary.  Maybe because we’re a fried-parm house rather than a baked-parm house, but anyway.

I poked around online a little bit, and found this recipe here, which seemed like a reasonable alternative.  So that’s the one I tried last night.

img_5314

And you know what?  It was pretty freaking good.  I gave the pasta water and sauce a head start on the mushrooms, and it was all done at more or less the same time.  Yes, the irony of using 3 different pots/pans is not lost on me – but this was 3 pans for the whole meal, not 3 pans for one part of the meal.

I think next time I will try the baked version, though; after 20 minutes in the pan, the mushrooms were a little flaccid limp slightly overdone.  But all in all, a good first effort in my book, and it’ll definitely get another try in this house.

I didn’t do any knitting last night, though; two glasses of wine while cooking and another during dinner put an end to that.  Tonight there will be casting on, I promise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 9:52 am

    Damn that wine. I’ve been bitten by that knit killing bug more than once or twice!

Leave a Reply

