Skip to content

2009.01.26

January 26, 2009

It was really a lackluster weekend by most standards  – we had no plans, and only left the house on Saturday to run a few errands.  Larry gets a little cabin-feverish, and had to go out and go for a walk yesterday, but I could happily stay in the house for days on end, so it was wonderful for me.

I did a lot of knitting – I should finish the left front piece of the Oblique in the next couple of days, and will post photos when I do.  The boys played videogames and built some train tracks.  I put away laundry, and ran the dishwasher twice.  Big whoop, right?  But it was just what I needed.

On Sunday I took a shot at making soft pretzels.  The book that came with the bread machine has the recipe, and you make the dough in the machine and let it rise once, then pull it out, shape the pretzels, let them rise again, then bake them.  How hard could it be, really?

img_5283

They were delicious, but I wouldn’t really call them soft pretzels.   Pretzel bread, maybe.

I followed recipe to the letter, too.  I don’t know what happened.  The only thing I can think of is that I didn’t divide the dough into small enough pieces – the recipe didn’t say “makes 8” or “makes 36” or what – maybe if I had divided it into 12 or 16 they would have been better?  I’m going to compare that recipe with those in other cookbooks and see if that sheds any light.

I roasted a chicken for dinner yesterday, and put some of the pesto I froze last summer under the skin just for fun.  I can’t possibly be the first person to think of it; I’ve definitely done the herbs thing, and the butter thing, but this was the first time I tried pesto.  What a great flavor!  The only downside is that it was a smallish bird, so I won’t get two rounds of leftovers from it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

