Skip to content

2008.12.22

December 22, 2008

Our office closed early on Friday due to the impending storm; I I got home around 1:45.  By 2:30 there was snow accumulation on my front steps, and by the time Larry got home around 5 there was shovel-able snow out front.  It wound down to flurries on Saturday, but never truly stopped snowing until probably 9pm.  And we woke up Sunday to another storm – this one was supposed to turn to a “wintry mix” around lunchtime, then to rain, and then end by 8pm.  It never turned, and was still snowing by the time I went to bed.

We started on Friday morning with bare ground, and by this morning we had 18 inches of snow.

Needless to say, it was a messy, boring, borderline stir-crazy weekend.  We did get out for a few hours on Saturday, but otherwise we stayed in – I never even got to the grocery store.  So of course I got the car stuck this morning, right?  I was an hour late getting into the office after all that.  But the less said about that the better, really, so let’s just move on.

The Peep made snow angels for the first time:

img_5012

img_5013

But he’d had enough of the cold after about 10 minutes, so we went inside for hot chocolate and cookies.

On Friday night I used the rest of the roast beef to make empanadas.  I had originally intended to use the recipe from this cookbook, but then I didn’t have most of the ingredients, so I winged it.  I actually am really happy with the concoction I came up with:

Leftover Empanadas

1 pound cooked meat of your choice – roast beef, pork, chicken or ground beef/turkey/chicken

1/2 cup salsa

1/4 cup grated cheese – cheddar, monterey jack, queso fresco, whatever you have on hand

2 frozen pie crusts, thawed (they come 2 to a package)

Preheat the oven to 425.

Shred, chop, or otherwise break up the meat into small pieces – smaller than bite size.  Combine it in a mixing bowl with the salsa and the cheese, and mix to combine.

Roll out the pie crusts onto a flat surface, and cut each one in half.

Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray, then lay one of the pie crust half-moons on it.  Cover half of the pie crust with the mixture, leaving a half-inch border along the edge; fold the other half over the mixture, and crimp the edges together, then cut a few slits into the top.  Repeat with the other three pie crust pieces.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

Larry and I were talking about the different fillings you could use here – a modified chicken pot pie, asian-style stir fry, sloppy joes, you name it —  they’d all be good.  I mean, you could just put cold cuts in it, even; a classic calzone never hurt anybody.  Alton Brown did a whole episode on this theme a while back, too; really, the possibilities are limitless.

So I think it’s safe to say that those frozen pie crusts will be on my grocery list every week until the spring thaw.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

