Skip to content

2008.12.17

December 17, 2008

Knitting is chugging right along these days;  I finished the last Christmas project over the weekend (no photos until it gets to the recipient), and am still plugging away on Larry’s second sock.  I think I’ll get to turning the heel by like Friday, and finish it up by early next week.

Last night I used this crazy unconventional method for a roast, and it was delicious!  It was an eye of round roast, which is a pretty cheap cut of meat; I suspect it would work as well with any round roast.  Since a simple google search got me about 97 variations on the instructions, I am happy to also share it here with you:

Round Roast

3-5 pound beef round roast
salt, pepper, or other dry seasonings

Preheat the oven to 500.

Rub the roast with the seasonings and put it in a roasting pan.  Do not add oil or water of any sort.

Put the roast into the oven and drop the heat to 475.

Cook it for 7 minutes per pound, then turn the heat off.  DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN.

Leave the roast in there, without opening the oven at any time, for 2 1/2 hours.

Truly, could that be any easier?

The only downside was that the roast was cool when I took it out.  But it sliced like butter, was a beautiful shade of pink, and was perfectly cooked all the way through.

I could see slicing the whole thing for French Dips, or barbecue sandwiches, or empanadas…. as it is I’m a little giddy thinking about the leftover possibilities – I made a three-pound roast and there is easily 1 1/2 or 2 pounds left.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 4:52 pm

    I’m making this for dinner tonight-I can’t wait to eat it! The apartment smells SO good!!

Leave a Reply

