Skip to content

2008.12.16

December 16, 2008

Yesterday my employer announced the necessity of having to lay off approximately 20-25% of the workforce…on Friday.  So we’re all stewing in our own juices for the next few days.

They’re being more than fair about things, they really are; I have no complaints about the way they’re handling it all.  I just hate not knowing.

So, in the face of the great unknown, I compiled a short list of positive things that would come out of immediate unemployment:

  • Being at home every day would enable me to get the Peep potty trained once and for all, and save about $80 a month on diapers.
  • We’d save on gas because I’d have nowhere to go.
  • The water bill would drop, because if I have nowhere to go I won’t need to shower every day, and we’d do less laundry because I’d wear the same clothes a few days in a row.
  • I would have much more time to devote to the garden, ultimately saving money on produce (unfortunately the savings wouldn’t be realized until summertime).

Needless to say, the list of negatives is neither short nor pleasant.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 11:29 am

    Ugh…I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

