Skip to content

2008.11.25

November 25, 2008

Things are progressing along nicely around here; Larry painted the spare room walls and tonight will paint the trim, so we should be able to put the furniture back in place tomorrow night.  Look for photos later this week, it’s really a startling transformation.

I’ve started on the cleaning-up downstairs and, provided one Nana or the other takes the Peep for a few hours tomorrow, I should easily be able to finish the cleaning and the preliminary cooking without a manic episode.

Here’s the menu for Thanksgiving dinner this year:

Curried pumpkin soup
Cornbread stuffing
Mashed potatoes
Roasted butternet squash
Glazed green beans with pecans
Cranberry sauce
Southern-style biscuits
Cider-roasted turkey with gravy

For appetizers we have cheese and crackers (provided by my mother-in-law), a couple of bowls of mixed nuts, and Larry’s stuffed mushrooms.  I am not having the port-wine chestnuts this year; it is a two-day process to make them, and I always end up with half of them in my fridge til New Year (when I throw them away).

My mother’s making the mashed potatoes, as always.  I decided to be a little lazy this year; I bought precut squash, and frozen green beans that steam in the bag.  We always buy the pies through my nephew’s school-fundraiser program, so all I have to do for dessert was buy a couple of gallons of ice cream.

It’s unlikely I’ll post again before Friday or Saturday, so from our house to yours, have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 10:29 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you as well. Have a nice long weekend. (Lucky duck out for the week!)

Leave a Reply

