Skip to content

2008.11.10

November 10, 2008

It is definitely the height of autumn here; the leaves are rustling underfoot, the air is crisp, the sun (when it’s out) makes the trees absolutely sparkle…this is my favorite time of year.

img_4777

We planted this tree when the Peep was six months old.  It’s about seven feet tall, and I don’t think it’ll get much taller, although I’m hoping it will fill out over time.  It’s one of the less popular types of Japanese Maple (most of the others have reddish-purple leaves), with has green leaves with red just at the tips.  That’s fine with me, though – the crazy orange leaves in fall more than make up for the lackluster summer foliage.

We have another (smaller) one out in the backyard, a laceleaf variety with the standard red leaves.  I’ll try to take a photo of that this week for you.

We didn’t do much this weekend; aside from a few errands we mostly stayed put.

On Saturday I made a trial-run version of my Thanksgiving stuffing.  I use the same recipe every year, and every year I wish I’d tried making it with less eggs (the recipe calls for five!), because it’s more of a custardy-bread pudding than a stuffing.  So this weekend I made it with only three eggs, and a cup less of chicken broth (cutting that down to six cups).  Much MUCH better.  Whew.

I did a baked chicken breast thing for dinner to go with the stuffing, but (just like Thanksgiving) there was still a ton left.  Yesterday we had another round of it with dinner, and on Wednesday I’ll make meatloaf (I put a layer of stuffing in the middle of my meatloaf), and if there’s any left after that I’ll send it over to my parents.  Which sounds awful, I know, but my Dad is like a billy goat – he’ll happily eat almost anything, regardless of age or provenance.

I also finished Christmas sock pair number 5, and started pair number 6 – look for photos of those later this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

