Skip to content

2008.10.27

October 27, 2008

Larry’s cousin was married on Saturday afternoon.

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you know that no matter how detailed I am in my preparations, things never go quite according to plan.  Saturday was no exception…

I woke up early and ran out the door to a hair appointment (my hairdresses flipped the script last week, and gave me some layers – I wasn’t ready ty try the round brush-hairdryer combo for a special occasion, you know?).  Filled up the car and hit the bank machine on my way.  On my way home I thought to myself “Do I need to pick up anything else?”  and ran through my mental checklist:  wedding card-check, stockings-check, gum/mints-check.  “Nope, I’m good”.

I got home at 10:45 and Larry went upstairs to begin getting ready (can I just mention that the ceremony was scheduled for 3:30, and despite being an hour away, we weren’t planning to leave until 2?).  He emerged from the fortress of solitude shower in a burst of steam at 1, and then it was my turn.

So I applied my makeup and freshened up my hair, and then it was time to get dressed.  I opened the package of stockings that I bought two weeks ago … only to find that I’d grabbed the wrong package at the store, and I was holding what my mother would call a “pantygirdle”, essentially a pair of lycra-spandex bike shorts.  Nooooo!    I scrabbled through the chest of drawers, hoping to find something – anything – that I could wear instead.  Unfortunately every other pair of stockings I own is either black, gray, or tights.  No dice.  Oh well, I figured, we can just stop somewhere on the way.  I moved on.

About ten minutes after getting dressed, Larry informed me that the top button of his suitcoat was so loose he was convinced he’d lose it, and could I sew it back on?  Sure I could – if I could put my hands on black thread at a moment’s notice.  Which I cannot.  Luckily, with yarn stashed in many orifices in the house, I found a ball of navy Cascade 220 in a bag next to the nighttable:  I unwound a few inches, unraveled the plies, and the day was saved.

The drive out to the wedding was uneventful (so uneventful that we forgot to stop for stockings – forgive me, Veronica).   We arrived at the site ten minutes before zero hour…only to find that the ceremony was being held outside.  Needless to say, I didn’t have a coat.  And I mean, the Hanami is made of alpaca and silk, so it’s warm – but it’s not outdoor-ceremony-in-October warm.  But, at that moment, it was not all about me, so  I sucked it up and huddled next to Larry until it was time to go inside.

All that aside, it was a lovely wedding.  The facility was lovely, the foliage was a beautiful backdrop – I bet their photos are spectactular, it was great to see all of the relatives, and Nicole was gorgeous.

Here are a few of the photos…

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 11:56 am

    You look amazing, and I love the hair!!

    Oh and re: the stockings. No judgement here, I haven’t worn them since I made my First Communion. I either wear tights or it’s bare skin, baby. Hehe

Leave a Reply

