Skip to content

2008.10.20

October 20, 2008

On Saturday we had the family over for dinner to celebrate my upcoming birthday (don’t worry, I didn’t cook; we got takeout).

On Sunday we ran a couple of errands, and then I went out back and prepped the vegetable bed for winter.  Last weekend I pulled all the plants and turned the soil over; yesterday I worked a bag of compost into the soil, and topped the whole thing with mulch.  Now come spring all I have to do is rake away the mulch, turn the soil over again, and we’re ready to go.

Which is not to say that everything’s finished growing for the season; we’re still getting raspberries, for one thing.  And the fall crocuses that I planted last month have begun to pop.

What’s that?  You’ve never heard of fall crocuses?

Me neither – just another one of the hidden gems to be found in the Fedco catalog.  I planted ten of these on either side of the stairs, and I counted 18 of them in various stages of progress while I was out there taking these photos.  Not bad.

All in all, a nice easy weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

