Skip to content

2008.10.08

October 8, 2008

My dresses from Boden finally arrived over the weekend, and I immediately put them to the test.

And then I made Larry take pictures for you, my dear readers.

Here’s dress number one:

and number two:

Can you guess which one has been returned?

Yep, number two.  I knew the print looked busy in the catalog, but I was hoping that in person the red/pink color family would assert itself, and the yellow would fade a bit.  Not so.

So back it has gone, and the red dress is the winner:  I’ll be wearing it to Larry’s cousin’s wedding in a couple of weeks, hopefully with the completed Hanami.  I’m toying with the idea of going off the board a little, and pairing it with brown shoes…

However, while the red dress is just fine for an afternoon wedding in fall, I’m not so sure about an evening holiday party.  I picked up some boob tape at Target, and now I can show you the bargain dress I picked up, and the issue I’ve been struggling with.

Here we have it with a strapless bra:

And here with just boob tape:

See?

You can’t even see the strapless bra, and the boob tape makes sure things stay under wraps, but it doesn’t change the landscape enough to obscure that tattoo.  (By the way, isn’t it interesting that you can just barely tell the difference between the two pictures?  Not sure if it’s because the strapless bra isn’t doing its job or what)  Either way it stinks because I’m otherwise pretty happy with the dress (and for $10, can’t really beat it), but I don’t think I can pull this off at a work function.  Do you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 11:14 am

    Hmmm…love the red dress, not particularly bothered by the tatoo. But…from past experience if you’re questioning the decision now don’t do it – you’ll be thinking about it the entire evening. What does Larry say???

  2. October 8, 2008 12:59 pm

    Hey!

    I like the red one & I still think the black one looks fabulous.

    c

Leave a Reply

