Skip to content

2008.09.12

September 12, 2008

So, as I’ve mentioned, I have a wedding to attend in late October (followed by the company part in early December).   And I have nothing to wear.

Okay, okay, that’s not strictly true, but it’s mostly true – I do have one dress that fits and is more or less appropriate.  Only one.  That one dress also happens to be black, and at least five years old, and I’ve worn it a zillion times.  So I think I’m due for a new party dress.

I’ve been cruising the usual sites to see if I can get down to a short list of places to look before I actually set foot in the mall.  Ann Taylor, Ann Taylor Loft, Banana Republic … there’s just not a lot out there that appeals to me.  Even broadening the search out to J.Crew and Nordstrom didn’t help.  I used to have good luck at Casual Corner, but they no longer exist.

I’m ashamed to say, the best dresses I’ve seen this year – at least, the best dresses for me I’ve seen this year – came in a stray catalog from Talbots.

TALBOTS, I tell you!!

Criminy, am I getting old enough to shop at Talbots!?!!

More on this dilemma in the weeks to come…

In other news, on the agenda for the weekend:  a baby shower on Saturday.  knitting.  Doing something with all those tomatoes.  knitting.  and hopefully, some knitting.

Have a good one!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miss Norty permalink
    September 17, 2008 2:30 pm

    Clothes? Tell me about it! I’m very lucky, I’ve found a brand I like, my sister in law in the US gets their stuff shipped over. I’ve seen a few nice dresses by Betty Jackson. I agree, there’s hardly anything decent out there!

  2. Miss Norty permalink
    September 17, 2008 2:31 pm

    Duh. I forgot to say, the brand I like is called Boden http://www.boden.co.uk/

    🙂

Leave a Reply

