Skip to content

2008.09.09

September 9, 2008

It’s gray and overcast here today, so I thought I’d brighten things up with photos I took outside on Sunday.

But first, a little backstory:  on Saturday afternoon I tore the living room apart looking for something (which I later found in the kitchen – something you never hear when you’re pregnant is “once you have children, nothing will ever stay where you left it”), and found the user’s guide to my camera.

Now, my camera isn’t anything special, I think it cost me $200 a couple of years ago.  For the most part it does what I want it to, and the things it doesn’t do well I generally chalk up to my lack of photographic skill.

Until I found the manual!

Turns out this camera has special settings for extreme close-up photos, and for taking photos of plants and landscapes (the setting is called “foliage”), for taking outdoor pictures of snow, and so on and so forth.

Sadly, I hadn’t found the manual before I took yesterday’s photo of that teensy crochet hook.  But, look at these pictures – all taken with the “foliage” setting:

This is one of the new sedums we put in last weekend.  I love how the not-quite-open flowers form a pink haze over the top of the plants.  And I love how the camera catches it.

Close up of some raspberries au naturel, just before we picked and ate those juicy red ones.

This was Sunday morning’s haul from the tomato bed, minus a few that the Peep ate before I could snap the photo.  That’s his elbow in the extreme lower-right corner, waiting to pounce on the basket.

I was so excited with the new camera setting that I got up the courage to photograph the tomato bed for the first time all season

I know.  Isn’t it disgraceful?  We never even connected the rain barrel to the gutters, much less maintained the plants in any way.  And yet, they’re growing and producing like crazy.

Now all I need to do is remember to change the setting from ‘Foliage’ to ‘Kids & Pets’ when I’m done taking photos of the garden … the Peep looks a little ghoulish here, no?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

