Skip to content

2008.08.14

August 14, 2008

As expected, I finished the Monkey socks on Tuesday.

The yarn (Colinette Jitterbug from the Loopy Ewe; colorway is ‘Dusk’) comes in 320-yard skeins, and I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough.  I did, but with only this much to spare:

I’m very happy with the socks – the pattern was really simple and I really like the colorway.  Once again I have swirls on one sock and stripes on the other, but there are so many colors within each stripe I don’t really even care.  I’ve seen comments on Ravelry and elsewhere that Jitterbug tends to be loaded with knots, but the only one my skein had was about 3 inches from the beginning.   It is also supposedly very pilly, but only time will tell.

I started a baby sweater last night.  I had to stop for a bit because my son knocked over my wine glass again.

I know what you’re thinking:  “Why do you keep leaving it where he can get it?”

Well, it’s on a tall side table next to the couch, and he has to climb up on the couch then reach up and over to reach it.  Usually I’m sitting there, which prevents the climbing and the reaching.  But when I’m not sitting there, Larry is on duty, and since he’s just on the other side of the couch and well within arms-length of the area in question, one would think a certain level of vigilance would be easy to maintain.  Apparently this is easier said than done.  Or, apparently watching the toddler isn’t quite as thrilling as watching television.  Perhaps it’s a combination of the two.  Or something.

At any rate, down it went.  I came downstairs to find the little one in timeout, and the big one mopping things up.  Because the wine doesn’t just hit the knitting – it gets the couch, the armchair, anything that’s on the floor between the two, plus anything on or in the side table (it has two shelves).  Once again, my knitting bag came to the rescue – it’s been soaked countless times, but between its unique shape and its waterproof exterior, my knitting has remained dry every time.

So far.

Anyhoo, even with a cleaning interval, and with Project Runway on, I managed to get the first (and only complicated) part of the sweater done.  From here it’s just straight knitting for a few inches, then adding the sleeves, and then putting on the edging.  I suspect it’ll be done by the end of the weekend.  I probably won’t post the photos until after the baby shower, which is in mid-September, so you’ll just have to trust me on this one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2008 7:21 pm

    they look great!! i love the color.

Leave a Reply

