Skip to content

2008.08.08

August 8, 2008

I made an absolute killing at the yarn sale yesterday.  I think I’m all set now for Christmas and baby knitting.  I meant to take a photo of my haul, but forgot.  I’ll try to do it when I get home.

Last night after work I went out and had an early dinner with a couple of the girls:  Carolyn (who also made a killing at the yarn sale), the lovely and talented (but sadly blogless) Candice, and of course the incomparable Veronica.   We laughed, ate and drank – and I was still home by 7:30.

After being with us nonstop for almost 10 days, the Peep has been having a hard time getting back into his usual routine.  He has been uncharacteristically upset when I leave for work in the mornings, among other things.  Today has been his best morning of the week, which I chalk up to my mother coming to the house armed with a bag of special treats and toys.  I’m hoping that next week will be better.

The other thing that has suffered during vacation is his sleeping habits.  For the couple of weeks prior to vacation he had been sleeping through the night IN HIS OWN BED.  Words cannot begin to describe how well I slept during those weeks!  Unfortunately he slept in the same room as us while on vacation, and a couple of mornings we woke up to find him in with us.  And since being home he’s been spotty; a night or two in his own room all night, but mostly waking up at 3 or 4 to come in with us.  Again, I’m hoping that time will heal all bad habits and he’ll get back to sleeping well (and by extension so will we).

Interestingly though, the lack of potty use while we were away (we didn’t bother packing the potty) hasn’t changed anything – he still uses it once or twice a day.  We ask him every couple of hours, and if he says he wants to, he does.  Period.  Occasionally he’ll volunteer the information (“Wanna do peepee in the potty”), which to me means he’s making progress.

Big weekend plans include date night (hooray!).  Probably mostly dinner, although we’ve just about decided to upgrade to iPhones, and should probably do that while we’re Peepless.  And if the weather holds we might take a trip to the town swimming hole.  We got the permit back in June, and here we are in August without having gone once.

Beyond that, there’s always knitting.  I started the second Monkey sock last night, and expect to make good progress on it this weekend.  And then onto the baby knitting!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

