Skip to content

2008.08.06

August 6, 2008

It’s a rainy, gray, chilly day here.  I actually don’t mind; I’m quite happy to be bundled up in long pants, socks, and a sweatshirt.   I like the relief a of a cool rainy day in the middle of summer.  It’s the perfect day to curl up with a book.

Or some knitting.

Or your laptop.  I’m working at home this morning, waiting for the washing machine repairman.  He’s supposed to arrive between 8-12.  Here we are at 9:30, and no sign yet.  Ugh.

Speaking of knitting, I finished the last pair of socks while we were on vacation:

I love the yarn – it’s quite jarring in person, one ply each of rust, blue, and gold, but mellows out nicely as it works up.  There’s a ton left over, too; I think is somewhere in the neighborhood of 140 yards.  Maybe enough for a pair of mitts or something.

I started another pair while we were gone, too, although admittedly all I got through was the cuff.  It’s my first pair of Monkey socks!

Like I said, I started the cuff on Friday, and here’s where I was yesterday afternoon.  I worked another two repeats last night, and I’d guess I have one more to go before to work the toe.  So maybe I’ll finish them tonight?  I’ve got two episodes of Project Runway ahead of me, so I just might!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2008 2:19 pm

    Looks like a nice vacation at the Farm. I’m pretty sure Larry’s mystery bird is an Evening Grosbeak. Don’t see them around much anymore but have seen a couple this summer. We’re off Saturday to North Conway!

  2. August 7, 2008 12:15 am

    Love the colorway you’ve chosen for the Monkey socks!

    You’re almost there — keep stitchen’!

Leave a Reply

