Skip to content

2008.07.25

July 25, 2008

We’re almost ready to leave tomorrow.  All of our clothes are piled up neatly, I just have to pack them.  I did a load of laundry (and even put it away!), ran the dishwasher, stopped the mail, brought the fish to Larry’s mother’s for the week.  Tomorrow I’ll change the sheets and water the garden, and we’ll be off.

I used to think my mother was nuts for cleaning the house before we left for vacation; now I know the truth:  there’s no bigger buzzkill than coming home from vacation to face all the chores you left behind.

Oh, and I finished the shawl this morning.  Spray-blocked it, let it dry, and even delivered it to its intended.

My best friend’s mother was recently diagnosed with cancer of the thyroid, which had spilled over to her lungs.  She had surgery a couple of weeks ago to remove her thyroid, and in the process a part of her voicebox had to be removed unexpectedly (which was actually not as bad as it could have been; for a while there they thought they were going to have to take part of her windpipe, meaning she’d have a permanent tracheotomy).  She starts radiation for the mass in her lungs next week, so I really really wanted to get this doen and presented to her before we left.

Pattern:  Perfect Pie Shawl, from Weekend Knitting.  Yarn:  Cherry Tree Hill Silky Kid in ‘Spanish Moss’

I’m really happy with the way it turned out, although like I said the other day, if I had it to do again I’d use a larger needle.   It took a skein and a half of yarn, so I’ve got about 150 yards left to fiddle with.

Most importantly, she loves it (I knew the yarn was the right choice – they are her colors to a tee).

I’m not bringing my laptop with me – there’s barely cellphone coverage where we’re going.  So I won’t post again until we get back.  In the meantime, have a good week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

