Skip to content

2008.07.18

July 18, 2008

I finished the first section of the pie shawl, and am about a third of the way through the second.  I’m starting to feel confident that I’ll finish it up before we leave.  I’ll take an updated photo over the weekend.

We took a walk to the local farmer’s market yesterday afternoon, and got some more incredible bread:  a loaf of potato-garlic-onion, and a loaf of apple-cinnamon, a slice of which I had for breakfast this morning.  Also a few more tomatoes, since our plants are just barely flowering.

A woman had her free-range chickens there for the kids to see, and the Peep couldn’t get enough of them.  I’d love to keep chickens in our yard, but the law says the coop needs to be 25 feet away from all property lines, and since that would put it smack in the middle of the yard, I think it’s a no-go.   Of course, I barely have enough time to keep myself clean and fed, so it’s probably for the best anyway.

Aside from a family dinner on Sunday, we don’t have any real plans for the weekend.  Good thing, too, since it’s supposed to be beastly hot and humid.  We’re thinking of going to the town pond, but I think it’ll depend on the air quality.

Whatever you’ve got in the works, stay hydrated and have a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

