Skip to content

2008.06.23

June 23, 2008

Not much to report about the weekend.  The house is in complete shambles inside (as usual) and out; the handymen have about six projects going out there, all in various degrees of completion….I don’t enjoy sitting out there right now, and I don’t feel terribly confident about the Peep’s safety when he’s running around out there.

Yes, it’s driving me crazy.

No, there’s not much I can do about it.

They keep telling me it’ll only be a few more days.  But then it starts raining.  So I wonder, do they mean a few more sunny days?  And how many do we need in a row before it’s really done?

If I get any vegetables this year I’ll be thrilled, they’ve got their stuff piled up all around the beds and it’s nearly impossible for me to get over there to water, never mind stay ahead of the weeds.

I know I’m going to love it when it’s all done…but it’s killing me right now.

On the plus side, yesterday was the third anniversary of us closing on the house.  In those three years, we’ve accomplished the following (either by ourselves or with professional help):

  • Replaced refrigerator
  • Replaced stove
  • Installed dishwasher and garbage disposal
  • Rewired the electrical system
  • Converted the heating system and relined chimney
  • Installed insulation and replastered walls and ceiling in the living and dining rooms
  • Rebuilt interior stairway
  • Removed 30 year old carpet and refinished original wood floors
  • Installed new basement windows
  • Installed new storm doors and a new front door
  • Regraded backyard, built two retaining walls and installed sod
  • Rebuilt front porch (in process)
  • Renovated back porch (in process)
  • Added gates (in process)
  • Painted exterior (in process)

All of which is a long-winded way of reassuring myself that we’ve come a long way, baby.  Considering that we did not buy a fixer-upper (nor pay a fixer-upper price), we’ve done a ton of work – the changes we’ve made were things we felt strongly about and/or needed doing badly, and this latest round will be enough to hold us for a long while.  After this only things still on the list are big projects: the bathroom and the kitchen.  We may get to the bathroom next year, but the kitchen will have to wait a good while.  Which isn’t the end of the world; it’s certainly livable and functional the way it is now.  I just have big plans for it (adding a half-bath, moving the back door, etc), and big plans mean big money.

Which takes a while to accumulate.

I have a bunch of before and after photos, but of course they’re in one place while I’m in another.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll get my act together and post those for your entertainment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

