Skip to content

2008.05.27

May 27, 2008

So, the handyman and his crew started the porch renovation last Friday.

You know how I’ve been saying that the porch was rotting off the front of the house? You probably thought I was exaggerating. I was hoping I was exaggerating, for sure.

I wasn’t exaggerating.

The clapboard that should have been surrounding supporting beams were in fact supporting the upstairs porch; there were no supporting beams inside. Ditto for the horizontal supports. Everything has been held up by trim boards (the thin pieces of wood used for things like baseboard trim in your living room). Fantastic. As for the column in that photo, once they took the trim board off of the horizontal beam, they discovered that the top of the column wasn’t even touching anything else. Double fantastic.

Aside from the sinking feeling that comes from knowing your project has just tripled in scope, that, it was a lovely, layaround weekend. We ran a couple of errands, took care of some chores, went to the park, and took a couple of nice long walks, but mostly we just puttered around.

I did a lot of knitting, to boot. Here is the finished left side:

And the almost-finished right side:

You may notice that the right side is a little more holey than the left; that’s not your eyes playing tricks on you, unfortunately. That’s my lack of consistency playing tricks on me. Here they are closer up:

I’m hoping that the holes will close themselves up while they’re soaking…if not, at least the fronts overlap a lot, so you’ll never see them both, and the right side is the inner layer. But the difference between my M1L’s and my M1R’s still kind of ticks me off. Oh well, time will tell.

I hope you got to relax this weekend, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

