Skip to content

2008.05.19

May 19, 2008

Baa Baa, Big Dee, Have you any wool?

Yes sir, yes sir, two bags full. (we won’t discuss the three bins full already in the basement).

Loot from the Webs Tent Sale…

Valley Yarns Berkshire Bulky Berrocco Ultra Alpaca Cascade Pastaza Valley Yarns Colrain Foxfire Fiber Cormo Silk Alpaca

The only thing I bought that wasn’t on my list is the last one, from Foxfire Fiber. It was so beautiful I couldn’t resist!

Saturday morning I attended a knitting workshop, “Knit to Fit: a Dressmaker’s Perspective”, led by Lorraine Ehrlinger. She taught us not only how to measure properly, but also how to translate patterns into real-world fit, as well as tips and tricks on modifying patterns to suit the wearer. It was fabulous! Learning how to properly take measurements was worth the price of admission alone.

And then I zipped home, loaded up Larry and the Peep, and we were off to Webs. About which, all I can say is “wow”. It’s an enormous place, plus they had tents set up outside. It was all a bit overwhelming, frankly, and I’m glad I made a list beforehand.

We spent over an hour there, by which time I was getting dizzy from the assortment of yarn in every direction, and the Peep was getting antsy. So back into the car we went, and after a quick stop for some fast food, it was off to the Dr Seuss park.

Which wasn’t quite what I expected – it’s actually a fairly compact place, in the middle of four museums.  But it was a nicely tended garden, and we were content to just meander around for a while.

Well, technically either me or Larry meandered at any given time, never both.  Because the other had to chase the Peep, who never meanders anywhere, ever.

This is beautifully illustrated in this photo, in which Larry is testing the timer function of the camera, and you-know-who just zoomed through the frame:

We couldn’t have planned that better if we’d tried.

But it was a beautiful day for a car trip, and we had a good time.

Needless to say, after a day like that, I was on knitting overload and didn’t even pick up the needles Saturday night.  Here’s what the left side of the sweater looked like on Sunday morning:

That big rectangle is the sleeve, and the little crescent is the front left side of the sweater. It’s hard to visualize from this photo, isn’t it? Here’s another one:

In this one the sleeve is folded in half, and it’s a little easier to recognize as a sleeve. You can almost imagine that the half-circle could turn into a sweater front, can’t you?

Here’s a close up of that half-circle. I love love love the way this thing is working itself out; I think the stitch detail is so cool.

After putting the needles down last night, I have about 30 rows to go on this side – I can’t believe how quickly it’s going!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 12:07 pm

    I am so envious! I was even in Northampton and resisted going! Aaahh!!

Leave a Reply

