Skip to content

2008.05.19 v2

May 19, 2008

So, when we were at Webs on Saturday, I was looking for some yarn to make the Tweedy Aran cardigan. I wanted to make it in Eco Wool or Pastaza – something tweedy, but not too pricey. They didn’t have enough Eco Wool in the colorway I liked best, so I grabbed a bag of Pastaza.

Doh!

Because the pattern calls for more like a bag and a half.  Which I didn’t realize until I got home.

Of course it wasn’t hard to find a different pattern to use the Pastaza with.  But darn it, I still want to make the Tweedy Aran.

So I just ordered the Eco Wool from Webs online.

And then, since I’m having so much fun making the sweater, I think the time has come to make the holy grail of Kate Gilbert patterns – the Clapotis.  And of course I don’t have anything on hand suitable for that.

So I just ordered some yarn from the Loopy Ewe.

Listen, if you consider that the last time I bought (non-baby gift) yarn was way back in January, I think this is really well within reason.  All told, between Saturday and today I spent just a hair under $300 on yarn.  But really, if you think about it, if I’d spent a little bit on yarn every month from January til now, it would be $60 a month. $60 a month on yarn seems downright austere fairly reasonable, doesn’t it?

Doesn’t it?

I promise this is the last yarn purchase until after Labor Day, okay?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

